Skip to main content

Corporate Governance


Michael D. Webb

Board Chair

Mr. Webb has more than 25 years of experience in healthcare and life sciences. He specializes in early-stage companies focused on targeted therapeutics and molecular diagnostics. Currently, he is the President and CEO of CXL Ophthalmics. He has been a founder and CEO of multiple biotechnology companies, taking them from seed round funding through venture financing and NASDAQ IPO.

George Kegler

Director, Chair of the Audit Committee

Mr. Kegler was employed by Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals from January 2013 – June 2019, serving as the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Interim from December 2018 – May 2019, where he had responsibility for the global finance function and was a member of the executive committee, Vice President Finance from November 2016 – November 2018, President Specialty Generics (Interim) and Vice President Finance from July 2016 – October 2016, and Vice President, Finance from January 2013 – June 2016. He has served in various consulting roles since June 2019. Mr. Kegler has 40 years of experience in financial planning and analysis, corporate finance, controllership and business development. Previously Mr. Kegler served as the vice president of commercial finance for various businesses within Mallinckrodt and was also interim president of the company’s specialty generics business. Prior to joining Mallinckrodt, he was the chief financial officer for Convatec a private equity-owned company that was purchased from Bristol-Myers Squibb. He worked in various finance roles within Bristol-Myers Squibb including commercial, International, technical operations, research & development as well as the assistant controller of internal controls. Mr. Kegler holds a bachelor’s degree in accounting from the University of Missouri, an MBA from Saint Louis University and completed the Certified Public Accountant exam in Missouri.


Frank Pasqualone

Director, Chair of Compensation and Nominating Committees

Mr. Pasqualone is a senior biopharmaceutical executive, who has brought strategic, operational, and cultural focus to building businesses from small/mid cap biotech to top-tier multinational pharmaceutical companies. His functional background includes international strategic oversight, executive P&L management, marketing, multiple major product launches, life cycle management, exclusivity extensions, and drug development prioritization. He has gained broad international expertise including a record of creating profitable businesses in emerging markets.

Marcus Schabacker, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Chair of Science and Technology Committee

Dr. Schabacker became president and chief executive officer of the ECRI Institute, a nonprofit organization with 500 employees and an operating budget of $70 million focusing on advancing evidenced-based, effective healthcare globally, in January 2018. Prior to joining ECRI, Dr. Schabacker worked at Baxter Healthcare Corporation, serving as corporate vice president and chief scientific officer from July 2015–May 2017, chairman of the executive quality council from March 2014–May 2017, Chief Scientific Officer, Medical Products from July 2014–July 2015, and Vice President, R&D, Medical Products from March 2011–July 2014. During his clinical years, and his time as an industry thought leader, Dr. Schabacker was focused on patient safety and enhancing patient care. For over a decade Dr. Schabacker has served on numerous boards of small and midsize companies and organizations, providing management with guidance and expertise to strategically accelerate growth and to build successful and sustainable high performing management teams. Dr. Schabacker is a board-certified anesthesiologist and intensive care specialist with more than 35 years of healthcare experience in complex global environments, and more than 20 years of senior leadership responsibilities serving the medical device and pharmaceutical industries across the healthcare value chain.


Joseph Tucker, Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer, Director

Dr. Tucker is a seasoned executive who has built several publicly traded biotechnology companies. Dr. Tucker was a founder and Chief Executive Officer of Stem Cell Therapeutics, which he took public on the TSX (TSX: SSS). Trillium Therapeutics (NASDAQ: TRIL, TSX: TRIL) acquired Stem Cell Therapeutics in 2013. Dr. Tucker has also held the position of Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Epimeron Inc., a University of Calgary start-up acquired in the creation of Willow Biosciences Inc. (TSX: WLLW). At Willow, Dr. Tucker served as Executive Chairman and Chief Operating Officer. Prior to founding companies, Dr. Tucker was a healthcare analyst with two investment banks and has also worked in technology commercialization for a university technology transfer office. Dr. Tucker received his Ph.D. in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from the University of Calgary.